• TSRA Admin

State Rep. Dennis Paul and State Senator Bryan Hughes- 2019 Legislators Of The Year

Updated: Sep 23

State Rep. Dennis Paul & State Senator Bryan Hughes

 Legislators of the Year

Awards presented during TSRA’s Annual General Meeting:

2019 State Rep. Dennis Paul (R-Houston) & State Senator Bryan Hughes (R-Mineola)  Click Doc Brown Award for more information.

2018 Senator Robert Nichols (R-Jacksonville) Lowered the fee to the state for the License To Carry from $140 in statute to $40 during the 2017 session.

2017 State Senator Brian Birdwell (R-Granbury) Campus Carry Legislation

2016 State Rep. Larry Phillips (R-Sherman) Licensed Open Carry

2015 State Rep. Dan Flynn (R-Van) Streamline the Concealed Handgun License process

2014 Senator Craig Estes (R-Wichita Falls) Passed 4 pro-gun measures in the 2013 Session

2013 State Rep. Jason Isaac (R-Dripping Springs) Shooting Range Protection Act

2012 Senator Craig Estes (R-Wichita Falls) Shooting Range Protection Act  (two awards given in 2012)

2012 State Rep. Tim Kleinschmidt (R-Lexington) Employer Parking Lot bill (two awards given in 2012)


2010 Senator Glenn Hegar, Jr. (R-Katy) passed Employer Parking Lot bill 4 times in the Senate.

2009 State Rep. Carl Isett (R-Lubbock) passed Motorist Protection Act allowing handguns in vehicle without  a handgun license.

2007 Senator Jeff Wentworth (R-San Antonio) Castle Doctrine law, first bill signed by Governor Perry

2006 State Rep. Terry Keel (R-Austin)  Presumption of traveling with a handgun

2005 State Rep. Joe Driver (R-Garland)

2004 Senator Ken Armbrister (D-Victoria) CHL Preemption

2003 Land Commissioner Jerry Patterson author of Concealed Handgun Law in 1995

2002 State Rep. Suzanna Gratia Hupp recognition for her tireless efforts on behalf of the Second Amendment

The History of the Award

Dr. James T. Brown was TSRA’s lobbyist from 1980 until he formally retired in 2003.   He became an NRA life member in 1962, became a life member of TSRA, and was a long-time member of Texas Gun Collectors Association.  He was elected and for many years served on the NRA’s Board of Directors.   Doc liked to hunt and described himself as a “passable” trap shooter but mostly Doc was an avid gun collector.

Doc believed the two most important bills which became law under his direct stewardship, passed during the 1985 Legislative Session.  The first was SB 1187 by Senator James E. “Buster” Brown and Rep. Bob Leonard which prohibited cities and governmental entities from adopting firearm regulations more restrictive than state law.  This legislation strengthened the Texas Constitution by adding language in statute to further clarify that only the Texas Legislature may regulate firearms, not local governmental entities.     SB 1187 was landmark legislation, passed with a Democratic majority in both chambers, and and signed by Governor Mark White.

Next, Doc was able to initiate and to help pass HB 1656 by Rep. Bill Messer to protect hunters and game animals from harassment and disruption during hunting season on private or public lands.

Governor White signed HB 1656.

Of course, Doc was involved and aggressively supported the movement to pass concealed handgun law in 1995.

Failing health led to Doc’s final  retirement from Austin and from lobbying in 2003.   Texas gun owners lost their best friend in Austin,  Dr. James T. Brown,  in 2008.   TSRA gives the Doc Brown Legislator of the Year award in his memory.


Join Newsletter

  • Facebook